Art, Craft, and Engineering – Part 2

(Continued
from previous post)

I guess what I am trying to say here is that, if you react to
the technical issues I raise in my article like I did when I first
ran into them. i.e.

I don’t have the time to do all of that or;

I don’t have the knowledge to do all of that or;

I just leave stuff like that to the control contractor;

and you use those reactions as an excuse to not deal with the
challenges they represent, then you are missing out on a lot. And
(returning to the technical side of things) the reality is that we,
as the designers of our systems, are the only people in a position
to adequately address the technical challenges raised by the need
to integrate them with the variables in the day to day operating
environment they will deal with.

Think about it for a minute; if the truth were know, I suspect that
it took Claude Debussy some time to write Clair De Lune,
that Joni Mitchell didn’t just sit down and record
Blue the first time the emotions hit her, and that Tom
Petty probably made a few passes at Free Fallin, before he
got it just right (my tastes, but you get the idea) (you probably
also have some insight into the music I was listening to when I
started to write this).

I also suspect that if you were to ask them, each of these artists
would say that part of the reason they do what they do is the joy
of creation. Speaking for myself, I know that a significant portion
of the pleasure I get from my occupation comes from the joy of
creation, be it writing an article, doing a training class,
developing a system diagram, developing a test strategy, or
developing a control sequence. I guess what I really might have
been trying to say in the HPAC article is that in my experience,
some of the biggest challenges and the biggest creative
opportunities I have faced have been associated with the control
sequences I have developed. The effort can be significant, but so
can the rewards. A well written sequence paves the way for a smooth
HVAC system installation and reliable, robust operation. So, I
would encourage you to spend some time developing the details of
your control sequence, thinking through the nuances and details
that make each system a little different from the one before it. As
Michael said, “sequences of operation provide the ‘score’
that orchestrates HVAC systems” and a well orchestrated HVAC
system can be a thing of joy and a creation to be proud of.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

