2008 Fourth Quarter Index

2008 Fourth Quarter Blog Post Index

The
Controls Integration and Coordination Meeting

10/05/08 
This post discusses the Control Integration and Coordination
Meeting concept and how it can be used to improve the quality of
the DDC control system during the submittal review process.

Resources
for the Resourceful; Control Point Naming Conventions

10/08/08 
This post points you to a DDC point naming convention resource and
discusses some of the things I think about when naming DDC system
points.

More
Thoughts on Point Naming Conventions

10/10/08 
In this post, I share a few more of the things I think about when
naming DDC system points.

Developing
a Monitoring Plan; The First Step in Data Logger Deployment

10/14/08 
In this post, I describe how I went about deciding what to trend
using portable data loggers on a current existing building
commissioning project that included constant volume reheat systems,
marine water pumping systems, chilled water systems, and heating
water systems serving a laboratory complex.

My
Data Logging Monitoring Plan; One More Thing

10/15/08 
In my previous post, I forgot to discuss an economizer equipped VAV
system I had selected as a data logging target, so I discuss it
here.

Data
Logging a Heating Hot Water System; An Overview of the Targeted
System

10/16/08 
I use this post to familiarize you with one of the systems targeted
for logging by the monitoring plan I discussed in the previous
post. It sets up the discussion in the next few posts where I look
at some of the logger deployment issues as well as potential
commissioning targets in the system.

Parallel
Pumps; An Indicator of a Retrocommissioning Opportunity

10/17/08 
The heating hot water system I discussed in the previous post
contains parallel pumps and in my experience, this arrangement
often represents an existing building commissioning opportunity of
some sort. I discuss why that is the case in this post.

Pump
Heat; What’s That?

10/20/08
In the post on parallel pumps as a retrocommissioning opportunity I
mention pump heat. Here I discuss what it is and point you to a
resource for further reading on the topic as well as the topic of
fan heat.

A Pump
Training Opportunity in Southern California

10/22/08

This post highlights Southern California Edison’s Customer
Technology Application Center (CTAC) and a class on pump system
troubleshooting that occurred there recently.

Data
Logging a Heating Hot Water System; Where’s the Load?

10/24/08 
In this post, I describe how I hope to use a limited logger data to
assess the load on the heating water system I have been discussing.
(Time will tell if I’m successful; watch for the results in a
subsequent post).

Data
Logging a Heating Hot Water System; Using Boiler Panel Amps to
Understand Boiler Performance

10/27/08 
In this post, I discuss how I went about deciding how to use
limited logging resources to help me quantify a boiler short
cycling issue I had observed during my initial scoping visit to a
project site.

Optimizing
and Troubleshooting Pumps; A Follow-up to the CTAC Class

11/09/08 
This post provides you with links to some free resources that you
may find helpful if you need to test, troubleshoot, or assess pumps
and hydronic systems.

Its
Been a Busy Month
12/04/08 
After not posting for a month due to a heavy travel schedule, I
share a few non-technical philosophical insights.

Pump
and Motor Interactions

12/07/08
In this post, I share a recent insight I had regarding how to
assess where a pump/motor combination will come into balance in
terms of operating speed.

Obtaining
Pump Performance Data

12/10/08 
In this post, I share different ways to get the pump data you need
to perform the pump/motor balance assessment I discussed in the
previous post.

Resources
for the Resourceful – Motor Operating Costs

12/14/08 
This post highlights a recent article in Electrical
Apparatus
about assessing motor operating costs and provides a
checklist of sorts to serve as a memory jogger if you are involved
in such an assessment.

An
Index to Previous Posts
 
12/14/08  
This post sets up the indexing system I decided to put on the
blog;  you are currently looking at one section of it.

2007
Second Quarter Index
12/14/08 
This is the quarterly index for the first quarter that the blog was
in existence and where I started the index development. 

2008
Fourth Quarter Index

12/14/08 
This post is the index for the current quarter and is what you are
reading. I decided that it would be pretty easy to keep the
indexing system current if I simply added links to it as I posted.
So, I set this index up to allow me to do that for the current
quarter. I will now backfill between this index and the 2007
Second Quarter Index
until I have it all done. Hopefully, the
entire index will be in place by the end of the year.

Resources
for the Resourceful; Comparing Climates

12/20/08
This post looks at a resoure called City-Data.com as a way to get a
general idea of how a climate you are familiar with compares to a
climate you have not experienced.

Extreme
Weather; Your Winter Wonderland can be a Facilities Engineer’s
Worst Nightmare

12/21/08
This posts contrasts the extreme conditions we are currently
experiencing in the Pacific Northwest with the norm and looks
at the challenges the extremes have brough to the facilities
teams that are operating systems through it all.

Happy
Holidays!
12/24/08
Nothing Technical here; just a wish for a happy holiday season and
a thankyou for visiting the blog.

Senior Engineer – Facility Dynamics
Engineering

Click
here for an index to previous posts

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

