Updated Resource List Plus Visualizing Airflow Around Buildings

Wow, when I look at the date on my last post, I see that it has really been a while since I have written something.  I guess things got kind of busy there for a while.  They still are probably, but Kathy and I just got back from a 10 day trip to St. John, USVI …

P1000109

… for our 10th anniversary.

Wedding clothes 17

We wear our wedding clothes every year on our anniversary;  great fun and highly recommended.   Anyway, we had a lot of fun …

Snorkeling 04.MTS_20120731100056

… and I totally didn’t work for the entire time, which was good for me and good for us I think.

DSCN3680

So, there are a few personal pictures to perhaps inspire you.  Even if you love what you do, (and I do), it seems to be a good idea to just let it go for a bit.

In any case, I’m just merging back into the real world, and am under the illusion that I am not as busy as I was.   That will probably change but until then, I thought I would share a couple of things that might be of interest.

Updated Resource List

Some of you may have downloaded the resource list I posted a while back.  Since that time, I have added to it so I thought I would post the current version.  Additions since the previous version (v9) include:

  • More content on induction motors including the final versions of the on-demand training modules we have been working on at the Pacific Energy Center (PEC).
  • Links to some tools for calculating pump and fan energy savings on the California Commissioning Collaborative web site.
  • Additional resources on Benchmarking and Utility Analysis.
  • A link to a training video from the PEC showing how to launch, deploy, and retrieve data from a simple motor data logger.
  • Additional resources for steam and condensate systems.

As I recall, those are the major additions.  There may be a few others scattered through-out.  Moving forward, I will use track changes to highlight where the changes happen between versions.

Visualizing Airflow Around Buildings

Some of you may be aware of the fact that there is an organization called The Cloud Appreciation Society.   Kathy and I are both full fledged members with all rights there-to appertaining.  As you might imagine, it’s a bit of whimsical organization, but a lot of fun and growing, with over 30,000 members currently.

The founder, Gavin Pretor-Pinney, has written some really good books about cloud and wave phenomenon, including the science behind them.  They are the perfect blend of theory and clever writing with some British humor thrown in that make some fairly complex things understandable and fun to read about.

One of the things I really enjoy about the society is the photo gallery.   The other day, I was taking a break and browsing through it and came across some very interesting pictures that illustrate how air flows around tall buildings.

JRHott Clouds Rolling Over Buildings in Panama City 01

They were taken by a helicopter pilot named J.R. Hott and there are a number of them on the society web site take from a bunch of different angles.  There are also several more on the Panhandle Helicopter web site.

So, next time you are trying to decide where to put the atmospheric pressure reference for your building pressure control loop, take a look at these pictures.  If nothing else, you will probably conclude that its not an easy nor casual decision to make.

Well, that’s it for now.  Hopefully, it won’t be so long between this and the next post.  Thanks to all who keep visiting the blog.  Hope everyone is having a nice summer.


David Sellers
Senior Engineer – Facility Dynamics Engineering
PowerPoint Generated White_thumb[1]

This entry was posted in HVAC Fundamentals, Resource List and other Resources. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

