A New Commissioning Resource Website

For a while now, I have had this idea for a commissioning resource website floating around in the back of my head.  It seemed like there would be things that I could do with the way a website is organized that are challenging or simply not possible on the blog.   So, I finally dipped my oar and tried to create one and the result is now “live” as they say.

image

The URL is http://www.av8rdas.com/ and as you can see from the image above, the theme is basically the same as the blog’s theme;  i.e. we stand to learn a lot from the reality the buildings we work in are trying to communicate with us.

I am certainly not a web developer by any stretch of the imagination and what is up currently is something that seemed “good enough” as the result of the combination of my skill set and the tools Weebly provides.  Part of the impetus for doing this was a need to figure out a way to shift content from lecture to a “find the details out yourself” format, which is what I am trying to do with the “What’s That Thing” page, the “Tools” page, and the “Useful Formulas” page I have linked from my “Resources” page.

This is an evolving work in progress so you will currently find a lot of stuff “under construction” (which I admit may be an excuse for me to post pictures of cranes and construction sites).  But hopefully, I will be able to fill out that structure over the course of the next year or so as I go through a round of the classes I teach at the Pacific Energy Center, which are a primary driver behind my doing this.

Incidentally, I have included a training page, which I plan to keep current with the dates for the classes I help teach in public venues for the upcoming four to five months.  Many, but not all, of these classes are free of charge, so if you are new to the industry and trying to learn, you may find  value in them. 

I also plan to include links to the materials from past classes and presentations under the Resources tab.  That is still  under construction but you can also get to those resources from the blog using the link on the right side of the home page under the 03- Materials from Classes and Presentations topic.

image

The advantage of moving things like that to the new website is that it makes them easier to organize and find and allows the blog to be more focused on the articles I write vs. the resources I reference.

The website includes an entry point to the blog in the navigation buttons on the upper right, or you can simply continue to use the actual blog URL, which is https://av8rdas.wordpress.com/ and which you probably already know if you are reading this.

David-Signature1_thumb1_thumb_thumb

David Sellers
Senior Engineer – Facility Dynamics Engineering
PowerPoint-Generated-White_thumb1_th[1]

This entry was posted in Resource List and other Resources. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

